Home  Investment Regional Opportunities

Regional opportunities

The Republic of Belarus in administrative-territorial terms consists of the City of Minsk and six areas: Brest, Vitebsk, Grodno, Gomel, Minsk and Mogilev regions.

Regions differentiate themselves by climatic conditions, resource base, demographic determinants, labor, production, scientific and technical potential, the development of industrial and social infrastructure.

Owing to the more developed economic, industrial and infrastructural potential of Minsk, the City attracts nowadays the major volume of foreign direct investment (FDI) (56% of the whole FDI inflow to Belarus). At the same time the regions possess huge potential for significant increase in FDI inflow.

An important factor of investment attractiveness of the regions is advantageous economic and geographic location of the Republic of Belarus on the crossroads of the key transport routes that bind Russia, Kazakhstan and China with the countries of the European Union. All the regions except for Minsk City and Minsk region border on foreign countries.

Abolition of customs borders and access to the large-volume market of the Common Economic Space (170 mn people) increases the competitiveness of Belarus’ regions.

A free economic zone (FEZ) was established in each region giving its residents tax incentives, customs preferences and other opportunities. Preferences are also provided when investing in the projects located on the territory of small towns and in rural area. Additionally, when making an investment treaty with local authorities an investor is given individual investment preferences by investment project realization.